11 UMNO MP’s sign statutory declarations weakening Perikatan Nasional’s power

by | Aug 4, 2021 | NATIONAL, NEWS | 0 comments

The Perikatan Nasional government had seen the withdrawal of 11 UMNO Members of  Parliament that was presented to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong beforehand on Tuesday, August 3.

During a livestream conference Ahmad Zahid, President of UMNO, declared that he and 10 others will back out from the Perikatan government.

Standing with him were Datuk Seri Najib, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Tan Sri Noh Omar, Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said, Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan, Datuk Seri Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim.

Others include  Datuk Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub, Ramli Mohd Nor, Datuk Ahmad Nazlan Idris and Datuk Mohd Nizar Zakaria.

The withdrawal is shadowed by Muhyiddin having trivialised the King’s advice to table the Emergency Ordinance in Parliament.

The Bagan Datuk MP said, “The government has clearly gone against the King’s decree and in fact, it has undermined His Majesty, who has decreed multiple times for all Emergency Ordinances to be debated and annulled before Aug 1, not September, in line with Article 150 (3) of the Federal Constitution.”

As of today (Aug 4), there are 104 MPs in the Perikatan Nasional bloc and opposing it are 107 MPs. To rule a government with a simple majority, a bloc needs 112.

Tambun MP, Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu mentioned that the Agong can consider establishing a minority government. The Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia Deputy President said to have a minority government is not strange.

Speaking to Sinar Harian he added, “As such, a minority government could be considered by the King for a new prime minister.”